Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: General thoughts from a long time reenactor

General thoughts from a long time reenactor

I've been following development for years now but have not taken the plunge in the forums until I was able to get some game time in. I now sit with around 22 hours of game time and multiple command opportunities so I thought I could add some feedback and perspective to things (or hope to).

First of all, my background is a reenactor of 23 years. I have coordinated battles from small locals all the way up to national-level events as a field commander and staff officer. Not that it really matters, but I did want to at least put my resume out there some.

• Spawning: At the start of a match, allow for 1-2 minutes for everyone to get organized.
    • Spawning: Spawn the different units slightly apart (maybe 30 feet or so) in the deployment zone so we have less confusion.
    • Color Bearers: Is there some way to lock them to a particular Captain? I ask because it seems one unit ends up with 2 and the other gets the shaft sometimes.
    • Captains: Look at something like America's Army used to implement, an honor system that tracks the captains effectiveness through kills by his command, time on objective and player vote. Give those guys the precedence.

These are just a few things that popped into my head to make things a little better. Overall I am encouraged to see players trying to form lines and use tactics even if those commands are not accurate to the period. It's been very encouraging from an old-guard reenactor who has watched his hobby steadily decline to see a renewed interest. Captains must realize that they are at the helm of the experience for their commands and should be held accountable for it. I for one take great pride in everyone enjoying themselves and perhaps even being a little arrogant about their most recent performance.

Kind regards,
    Capt. Sharp